Organizing my Hawk Photo Bag

001

I was surprised to see that I was able to fit 2 cameras in my Hawk bag. I originally thought I have fit everything that I can already since I bring a lot of things on a regular basis and bringing 2 cameras might be a burden to my by using another bag for the secondary camera.

I started this by searching the web on bags to carry 2 cameras or more. I stumbled upon a video of the Hologon 20 backpack which a huge bag in itself. Personally I didn’t want to carry such a large bag. But as I was watching the video I saw how he removed each of the items in the bag and I was inspired by how he organized it. I saw that he was able to put 2 cameras in a compartment similar to mine. I wanted to do the same.

So, I removed everything from my Hawk bag and placed beside it what I wanted to bring all at the same time. Here is the image below and the list of things I want to bring. Sorry for the image quality, I was using my Cherry Mobile Flare 2X to take pictures at this time and I didn’t have good lighting anywhere around my home. And I used my usual camera on the demo, so I didn’t have a choice when I was doing this shoot.

  • Pentax K100D Super with a 50mm 1.7 lens
  • Tokina 35mm-70mm lens
  • Fujifilm HS25EXR
  • Fujifilm EF-42 (Hotshoe Flash)
  • Olympus C-60
  • AA Rechargeable Batteries
  • AA Charger
  • Camera Cleaning Brush
  • Air Blower
  • Cleaning Cloth
  • Samsung Media Player 4.2
  • Tape Measure
  • Reflector
  • SD Card Reader to lightning cable (iPad mini)
  • iPad Mini
  • USB Cables (used for file transfer or charging)
  • Chargers
  • SD Cards
  • Adonit Jot Touch
  • Adonit Jot Touch Charger
  • Laser Pointer
  • USB Flash Drive
  • CDR-King Power Bank 12000mAH
  • Silicon Gel
  • (Optional) Tripod

002

So, first thing’s first. I placed the Pentax K100D Super, Fujifilm HS25EXR and the hotshoe flash in the main compartment. I also placed the USB chargers and my USB flash drive in a mini blue bag.

003

I placed the Olympus C-60 and the Tokina 35mm-70mm lens in the main compartment. The location of the hotshoe flash is still free with some space, so I place the AA rechargeable batteries there including the charger. Place the cables in the main zipper area.

004

Air blower and the CDR-King Powerbank in the remaining area in the main compartment.

005

Since there is some space in the remaining compartment. Put the mini blue bag on top of it.

006

Place the reflector on top of the main compartment, and place the iPad Mini on top of it too. Once you close the bag, the reflector and iPad Mini will be held in its place.

007

Oh, don’t forget to put the silicon gel inside the bag, anywhere should be fine. It should help absorb the moisture to protect the gadgets. I placed the Camera cleaning brush and the cleaning cloth inside the left zipper. I placed the SD card reader, Adonis Jot Touch charger and the SD memory card in the right zipper.

008

I close the bag, more pockets there. Main bag is full but not too tight. So far so good.

009

Now I place the Adonit Jot Touch, laser pointer and the remaining cables on the top small compartment.

010

Last few items, I put the media player, tape measure, earphones and a notepad on the remaining compartment.

011

Now all is fit, the tripod can be held under the bag. It has some straps to hold a small tripod. Although my tripod is a little bigger than it was designed for, it still does the job well. This is only optional for the reason mostly is that the tripod is a heavy accessory. Even though I want to bring it, it’s just not practical to bring it all day because of the weight.

Well, that’s that so far. I’ve placed almost everything that I need. I suppose the only thing remaining from my main work stuff is my laptop, but I already have a bag for that, and I don’t want to bring the laptop on a daily basis. It’s too heavy to bring them all at the same time.

I hope you like the article. It’s not the usual photo that I put up online, but it’s related to photography and it’s something I learned which I wanted to share.

Leave a comment